Creativity

Creativity

The first thing that I am going to talk about is something near and dear to my heart. I also think that it will the a loose foundation for a lot of future posts; Creativity. It is also a part of my new endeavor to better myself that I should figure out exactly how I feel about creativity and how important to me it is. The best way for me to figure my way through and issue like this is to write about it so… here we go.

Growing up I was always a creative kid, I love drawing and many of my favorite gifts that I have ever received were art supplies when I was a kid. I remember thee first set of colored pencils my first sharpie, my first sketch pad, my first lego set, my first block of clay. And each one of those gifts were amazing to me it was like opening up I whole new world of possibilities. I remember in middle school shortly after my parents got back together (…hmm… I’ll save the details on that for another post) for christmas my dad got me a block of modeling clay which I had heard of before but did not really understand. After getting the explanation that it was oil based and not water based so that it will never dry out…! “That means I can use the same batch over and over!”

I immediately fell in love with the third dimension, and another funny thing happened. As soon as I began creating things that were three-dimensional I began to observe the third dimension more fully. I would spend hours staring at my room, the street, my house, with one eye open and then the other. I was fascinated by the way and objects silhouette could change so dramatically with such small turns. To this day swimming is my favorite physical activity because of the three-dimensional quality in which you can move.

Next time you are swimming in a deep pool, like 12-15 feet, try swimming in as complicated path as you can think of image the you are a seal and that the sides of the pool are the aquarium windows at the zoo. It will change the way you think about swimming, and hopefully the third dimension.

Another thing that happened once I began to see the third dimension is that I began to draw it. I became aware of what shading was actually there for. Shading was a technique the my father, a draftsmen, had taught me before but it was always something that I had put at the edges of shapes so that you knew they weren’t flat, it was little more the a neat pencil trick that I had learned. But its not until you truly see the depth of an object that you understand what the shading represents, but I digress.

The point is that I have been creating art of various qualities and in various media my whole life and what I have found is that the process of creation is a wholly unique system in the universe. It is only using creativity that you can take and input and generate more than what was put in. If ideas were form of energy then the human mind would be cold fusion reactor; taking in only a tiny fraction of what it puts out. And I truly believe this applies to every person. Anyone can be creative in the most wonderful ways.  The major roadblock for most people is not an inability to imagine or create, it’s the skills to bring that creation into the physical world. because the average person is capable of creating hundreds of fantastic ideas a day, but they lack the skills to share and realize the ideas.

Now really this is an explanation only, and not an excuse; not anymore with the internet available to everyone. Want to learn to type? Internet. Want to learn to draw? Internet. Want to learn to knit? Internet. There are a handful of media that are not conducive to learning on the web, but most of them can be supplemented by a community center or continuing ed. classes. Things like pottery you can easily start in a college class and then maintained out of your home. The only thing standing between you and self expression is the will to follow through, and possible the fear of criticism.

The will to pursue your dreams is not something that can be given to you, but fear of being criticized is nothing to fear at all. The important thing to remember is that criticism, the constructive kind anyway, is exactly how all of the worlds greatest artists and creators achieved their high level of skill. And even if the criticism is not constructive and only negative you should know that every negative comment only makes you as a creator that much more strong for the next time around. And also know that the worst reception of a creation is apathy, the last thing you want is for what you are making to go completely ignored without affecting anyone. In the end the important thing to hang on to is that everything that you put out into the world that wasn’t there before you is a change the you have made on the world, and even is that change isn’t for the better at first, it will be someday as long as you stick with it.

And that is my take on Creativity.

Leave a Reply

